California's Home Study Driver Education Class

We offer online driver education and home study driver ed courses that satisfy the California Vehicle Code driver education requirements for students to obtain a DMV learners permit and drivers license. Our driver education classes are accepted by the California DMV. Designed for all California high school students in Sacramento, San Jose, Los Angeles, Long Beach, Oakland, Orange, San Diego, Riverside and all other areas of California. A service of Pacific High School.

               To easily find this site again, hit Ctrl+D, or drag this link: Cal-Driver-Ed to your Favorites.

Our Online Drivers Education Course
Meets the California DMV requirements for students under 18
to get a Learners Permit and a Drivers License

The California DMV Driver Handbook

Teenagers as a group have more accidents than most other drivers averaging twice as many accidents as adult drivers, while driving only half as many miles. This makes the teenage accident rate per mile four times as great as that of adult drivers.

Studies in the U.S. and other countries show that a common factor in the traffic deaths of new drivers is a deadly combination of their inexperience, their lack of familiarity with their car, and their need to push themselves and their vehicle to the limit.

You have many limitations when you first begin driving. You must think about every movement of your body and car. Maneuvers such as steering, which you must now concentrate on, will eventually become habits that you do without thinking. As a new driver, you will be focusing your attention on the basics of driving. Don’t become over confident in your driving ability. Don’t attempt unknown, or risky driving maneuvers before you’ve had enough driving experience to ensure your safety. Develop your ability to react correctly and to control your car first .

You are taking a risk if you attempt to drive when ill, sleepy, or upset. Know when your driving ability is limited and drive only when you have good control of your car.

Traffic Violations Increase Accidents

Nearly half of all new drivers 15 to 19 are convicted of a traffic violation in their first year of driving.

Speeding (which often results in loss of vehicle control) is the most common moving violation for teenage drivers. About 50% of all their traffic convictions are speed violations.

When you violate traffic laws, you increase your chances of having an accident.

Teenage Traffic Deaths

Drivers 15 to 19 years old have very high traffic accident, injury, and conviction rates. Traffic accidents are the leading cause of death for teenagers. If you are under 18 years old, your risk of a fatal accident is about 21/2 times that of the “average” driver. Your risk of an injury accident is three times higher than the average driver.

How To Keep Your Provisional License

The department will be watching your driving record very closely and will take actions based upon the accidents or violations that appear on your driver record. Here is what will happen:

  • If you get a traffic ticket, but do not appear in court DMV will suspend your driving privilege until you appear in court.
  • If you get a traffic ticket and fail to pay the fine, DMV will suspend your driving privilege until you pay the fine.
  • If you have one “at fault” accident or conviction within 12 months, the DMV will send you a warning letter.
  • After a second “at fault” accident or conviction (or combination of both) within 12 months, you cannot drive for 30 days unless accompanied by your parent or other licensed adult who is at least 25 years of age.
  • After a third “at fault” accident or conviction (or any combination) within 12 months, you will be suspended for six months and be placed on probation for one year.
  • If you have additional “at fault” accidents or point count convictions while your driving privilege is on probation, you will be suspended again. (Traffic law violations resolved in Juvenile court are also reported to DMV.)
  • If you are convicted of using alcohol or a controlled substance and you are between the ages of 13 and 21, the court will tell DMV to suspend you for one year. If you don’t have a driver license yet, the court will tell DMV to make you wait a year longer before you can apply for a license. You can also be required to go to a DUI program.

Any restriction, suspension or probation will continue past your 18th birthday for its full term.

Other, stronger actions can be taken if your driving record justifies them. Remember, when your driving privilege has been suspended or revoked, you may not drive in California with any license or permit.

Vandalism—All Ages

Vandalism is defacing property with paint or any other liquid or by scraping or writing on any surface. The court will suspend, restrict, or delay for one year the driving privilege of a minor age 13 years or older.

Adult drivers will also have their licenses suspended for one year if convicted of similar acts of vandalism.

Habitual Truant—Persons Age 13 To 18

The court will suspend, restrict, delay, or revoke your driving privilege for one year if you are convicted of being a habitual truant from school.

Possessing Firearms

The court will:

  • Suspend or revoke the driving privilege of any minor convicted of possessing a concealable weapon or live ammunition or
  • Impose driver license sanctions for minors convicted of misdemeanors involving firearms.

previous | table of contents | next

Our Driver Education Course is Accepted by the California DMV

View Our California DMV Verification Letter

Sample DMV Driver Education Certificate of Completion

California Highway Patrol

"Cal-Driver-Ed is a pioneer in the field of online driver education. Over 80,000 California teenagers have taken their courses and are driving today."

"I recommend Cal-Driver-Ed for home study driver education."

The following quotes are excerpts from a California DMV Study on the Effectiveness of Home-Study Driver Education (PDF) dated April 2003:

"Home-study students performed just as well or better than classroom students ... "

"Home-study courses may also have the additional benefit of increasing parental involvement in their teen's learning process, which has been shown to be an important factor ..."

Cal Driver Ed is proud
to be a member in good
standing of the
Better Business Bureau
of NE California.

Better Business Bureau Member



Already Have Your License?
Looking for a Traffic School?

Traffic School Online

Traffic school will help keep your auto insurance costs lower if you receive a traffic ticket.

Every licensed California Driver must have auto insurance to drive a vehicle in California. Proof of insurance must be provided to the California DMV when you obtain your drivers license (not your learners permit).

Proof of auto insurance must also be provided to DMV when you register or renew the license on a vehicle you own.