California's Home Study Driver Education Class

We offer online driver education and home study driver ed courses that satisfy the California Vehicle Code driver education requirements for students to obtain a DMV learners permit and drivers license. Our driver education classes are accepted by the California DMV. Designed for all California high school students in Sacramento, San Jose, Los Angeles, Long Beach, Oakland, Orange, San Diego, Riverside and all other areas of California. A service of Pacific High School.

               To easily find this site again, hit Ctrl+D, or drag this link: Cal-Driver-Ed to your Favorites.

Our Online Drivers Education Course
Meets the California DMV requirements for students under 18
to get a Learners Permit and a Drivers License

The California DMV Driver Handbook

When a driver is cited for a traffic violation, the judge may offer the driver the opportunity to attend a Traffic Violator School. Drivers may participate once in any 18-month period to have a citation dismissed. Only one ticket can be removed from the driving record this way.

The course gives participants an understanding of traffic safety by emphasizing driver responsibility, proper driver attitude, and traffic laws.

Traffic Violator Schools are located throughout the state, however, not all counties participate in the program.


If you get too many negligent driver points, DMV will place you on probation for one year (which includes a six-month suspension) or revoke your driving privilege. You are entitled to a hearing if your request is postmarked or received within ten days of receiving the suspension or revocation order.

At the hearing, you will have the opportunity to present evidence (documentation) and testify on your behalf to show why your license should not be suspended or revoked. Based on all the evidence, the hearing officer will determine if your license will be suspended, placed on probation, or revoked. At the end of the suspension or revocation period, you may apply for a new license and you must show proof of financial responsibility.

NOTE: DMV will revoke your license for a conviction of hit-and-run driving or reckless driving which results in injury.


A judge may suspend the license of anyone convicted:

  • Of breaking speed laws or reckless driving for up to:
    - 30 days on the first conviction,
    - 60 days on a second conviction, and
    - six months on a third or subsequent conviction.
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
  • Hit-and-run.
  • Engaging in lewd conduct and prostitution in a vehicle within 1000 feet of a residence.
  • Assaulting a driver, passenger, bicyclist, or pedestrian when the offense occurs on a highway (road rage). The person may be required to complete a court-approved anger management course.
  • Failure to stop as required at a railway grade crossing.
  • Felony or misdemeanor offense of recklessly fleeing a law enforcement officer.

Regardless of point count, many serious offenses in which a vehicle is used are punishable by heavy penalties such as fines and/or imprisonment.

previous | table of contents | next

Our Driver Education Course is Accepted by the California DMV

View Our California DMV Verification Letter

Sample DMV Driver Education Certificate of Completion

California Highway Patrol

"Cal-Driver-Ed is a pioneer in the field of online driver education. Over 80,000 California teenagers have taken their courses and are driving today."

"I recommend Cal-Driver-Ed for home study driver education."

The following quotes are excerpts from a California DMV Study on the Effectiveness of Home-Study Driver Education (PDF) dated April 2003:

"Home-study students performed just as well or better than classroom students ... "

"Home-study courses may also have the additional benefit of increasing parental involvement in their teen's learning process, which has been shown to be an important factor ..."

Cal Driver Ed is proud
to be a member in good
standing of the
Better Business Bureau
of NE California.

Better Business Bureau Member



Already Have Your License?
Looking for a Traffic School?

Traffic School Online

Traffic school will help keep your auto insurance costs lower if you receive a traffic ticket.

Every licensed California Driver must have auto insurance to drive a vehicle in California. Proof of insurance must be provided to the California DMV when you obtain your drivers license (not your learners permit).

Proof of auto insurance must also be provided to DMV when you register or renew the license on a vehicle you own.